About Us


Thank you for your interest in joining the Bellingham Symphony Orchestra.

2022-2023 Auditions

Join the BSO! General auditions for the 2022-2023 season will take place in June 2022 at Mount Baker Theatre.

Openings are in:

  • Assistant Principal Viola
  • 1st/2nd Violin Section Player
  • Viola Section Player
  • Bass Section Player
  • 3rd Flute
  • Substitutes for all sections

Please note the BSO is a volunteer based orchestra with some positions receiving stipends. For more information or to audition, please contact operations@bellinghamsymphony.org.

About the Bellingham Symphony Orchestra

The Bellingham Symphony Orchestra performs under the direction of Music Director Yaniv Attar. The BSO is a community-based orchestra that is composed of musicians from various levels, ranging from  professionals to dedicated musicians in our community.  The BSO typically performs six to eight concerts throughout the season, including concerts for our Harmony from Discord Series, a chamber orchestra concert, and an educational concert. In addition, the BSO engages with our community through over ninety solo and chamber performances each year. From Soloists in the Schools to Classical Around Town, we aspire to reach our community with music in new and interactive ways. 

The BSO has tremendous community support, a stable artistic and administrative staff, and a highly-engaged Board of Directors, which is a part of its success and financial stability. The culture of the BSO is one of excellence, respect, and mutual support.

The BSO is the Resident Orchestra of the historic Mount Baker Theatre in Bellingham, which seats over 1,500. The BSO regularly fills the hall with sold out concerts each season.

For more information about the BSO, please visit the About Us Page.

Stay tuned!

For more information about increasing diversity in America's orchestras, click here.